Petition for Leyla Zana, former DEP Member of the Parliament of Turkey, 1995 Sakharov Prize Laureat, sentenced to 10 years in prison by a Turkish court

Mr. President of the Republic of Turkey,

Mr. Prime Minister,

Mr. President of the Great Assembly,

Mrs Leyla Zana has been sentenced to 10 years in prison by the 5th Criminal Court of Diyarbakir for crimes of opinion. She was sentenced on the basis of disputable articles of the Penal Code which do not sufficiently respect freedom of expression, and in conditions contested by the counsel for the defence.… Lire la suite